Our Team

Leadership:

Staff – in alphabetical order by last name:

Diane Acurso, CPA – Manager – dacurso[at]bsbllc.com

Diane has been a CPA since 1990, and worked at several local CPA firms in the DC area before joining the BSB team in the fall of 2004. She received a BA in Mathematics from Colorado College, a BS in Business from the University of Maryland, University College, and completed an MS in Taxation at George Mason University. Diane specializes in individual taxation, and estates and trusts tax matters. She also handles fiduciary accounting for some of our large estate clients.

Xabier Atela – Staff Accountant – xatela[at]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Edyta Barrett – Staff Accountant – ebarrett[at]bsbllc.com

Edyta joined BSB in September of 2013. She has been an accountant for about 10 years and received her BS in Accounting from George Mason University. Her expertise includes individual taxation as well as accounting support services. Edyta enjoys spending time with her husband and their two daughters.

Haley Betz – Senior Accountant – hbetz[at]bsbllc.com

Haley Betz has two passions: accounting and science, specifically astronomy and physics. Her love for music and movies isn’t far behind. When she’s not helping clients as a senior accountant, she is probably listening to an album from her extensive record collection, attending live shows, or browsing her favorite websites- Letterboxd, Criterion.com, Pitchfork, or NPR Music- for movie recommendations or music news.

Haley specializes in tax preparation and planning, assurance, and accounting for a variety of industries, including government contracting, not-for-profit, and professional services. Her clients know about her accounting expertise, but they may not know that she has a twin sister. In fact, she and her sister, along with the rest of her family, visited Ireland, which is still Haley’s favorite vacation spot.

Kati Chase – Administrative Staff – kchase[at]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Lucas Costa – Senior Accountant – lcosta[at]bsbllc.com

As a senior accountant, Lucas Costa serves clients in a variety of industries. He began his accounting career in 2017 after graduating from Radford University with a BS in Accounting and Finance.

Lucas has lived in Northern Virginia all his life and is the youngest of three brothers. When not working, he can be found playing basketball, watching sports, or hanging out with his friends. He also enjoys going on adventures with his dog, Benji, and vacationing anywhere with water.

Michael Crichton, CPA – Manager – mcrichton[at]bsbllc.com

As a manager at BSB, Michael Crichton specializes in individual tax, corporate tax, and financial reporting. He also spends as much time as possible on the golf course. His wide variety of clients include professional service firms, home builders, breweries, political consultants, and software distributors.

Mike has lived in the DC area most of his life. He grew up in Olney, Maryland, graduated from Virginia Tech and moved to Virginia permanently in 2009 after he completed his BS in Accounting and joined the BSB team. When he’s not working on financial reporting engagements for commercial, not-for-profit, and employee benefit plan audits, he spends time with his family, cheers for all the Washington professional sports teams, or travels to his favorite vacation spot–Hawaii.

Carolyn J. Frankeberger, CPA – Manager – cfrankeberger[at]bsbllc.com

Carolyn brings perspective to her engagements from both the client and CPA viewpoint. Her 25 years in the accounting profession has been divided equally between private industry and public accounting. She has worked extensively in the construction industry, and has experience in commercial real estate, government contracting and a variety of service industries. Her current focus is on financial reporting and tax services for closely held businesses and their owners. Carolyn has a BS in Business Administration from West Virginia University, and enjoys bicycling and hiking in her free time.

Angel Gabriel – Senior Manager – agabriel[at]bsbllc.com

Angel Gabriel has worked at BSB since 2000 but started his career in Southern California in the late 1980s. He relocated to Northern Virginia in the fall of 1994 and met his soon to be wife, Lynn, six years later.  With more than 30 years working in public accounting, Angel specializes in tax preparation and planning, financial reporting, government contracting, and providing accounting support services. His clients appreciate his accounting expertise, but they may not know about his secret talent: puzzles.

As a George Mason University alumnus, Angel enjoys attending Patriot basketball games. He also follows all his favorite teams on espn.com, including his favorite pro basketball team, the Los Angeles Lakers. When not watching sports, playing golf, or on family gatherings, he enjoys vacation adventures exploring the rich history of various countries. His favorite visits have been Rome and Paris, but generally any destination requiring a US passport will do.

Lynn Gabriel, EA – Senior Accountant – lgabriel[at]bsbllc.com

When Lynn Gabriel isn’t serving clients as an IRS Enrolled Agent, she might be found traveling, maybe even to one of her favorite European destinations.  As a senior accountant, she specializes in individual taxation and serves on the board of the Virginia Society of Enrolled Agents.

With more than 20 years of experience at BSB, Lynn’s clients appreciate her accounting expertise. They may not know about her educational background in English and French. This may not come as a surprise since she also enjoys reading, historical dramas, and cheering en francais for one of her favorite teams, the Montreal Canadiens.  She also enjoys hiking, photography, swimming, listening to music and rooting for her other favorite team, the Washington Capitals.

Stephen Gerke – Staff Accountant – sgerke[at]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Amy M. Ginn, CPA – Manager – aginn[at]bsbllc.com

Amy joined BSB in 2006 and has 10 years of experience in accounting. Before moving to her current position, she worked for a local real estate settlement company. She is one of several of our firm who claim the local George Mason University as their alma mater. Amy loves college football, and especially her favorite team – Alabama’s Crimson Tide!

Stephen Greer – Supervisor – sgreer[at]bsbllc.com

Stephen is another boomerang. After working for BSB for two years, Stephen expanded his experience with firms who specialize in the area of government contracting and auditing. But he missed BSB, and we missed him. Happily back with us, Stephen is back to the broader tax, accounting, and assurance world. Stephen is a GMU grad, who enjoys the great outdoors, rebuilding his Jeep Wrangler (it passed inspection!) and above all, time with family, including a lovely wife and one-year-old handful, Ellington.

Christa Harrell – Administrative Staff – charrell[at]bsbllc.com

Christa joined BSB in 2016 and appreciates working for a forward-looking, growing organization such as BSB.  She graduated from Bridgewater College and in the past has worked for accounting firms in many capacities.  Her focus is to provide excellent service to staff and clients.  Christa enjoys gardening, reading and traveling.

Yassin Hassan – Accounting Support – yhassan[at]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Josephine (Josie) Heck, Staff Accountant – jheck[at]bsbllc.com

Josie was born and raised in northern Virginia, and she has come back! Josie graduated from Miami University of Ohio with her bachelor’s degree in accounting and recently received her master’s degree from American University.  The proud aunt and premiere babysitter of 2 nieces, she loves spending time at the beach or with family and friends, and even better – both!

Alexandra Labons – Senior Accountant – alabons(a)bsbllc.com

Alexandra graduated from Longwood University in 2015 with a BA in Business and a concentration in Accounting. She calls all of Virginia her home, having been raised in NoVa first, and then Richmond through high school. She is the third of eight kids, so fits nicely into the fun BSB family. In her spare time, Alexandra enjoys anything athletic, reading good “beach” books, her friends, and her cat, Lilly.

Barbara Madden– Firm Administrator – bmadden[at]bsbllc.com

Prior to joining the firm, Barbara served as an executive in senior management for several local, prominent law firms.  Barbara is skilled and experienced in finance, business management, human relations, and technology administration, as well as lease and facilities oversight.  Barbara is an avid reader, enjoys playing the guitar, and traveling.

Ronald Martin – Staff Accountant – rmartin[at]bsbllc.com

As a staff accountant, Ronald Martin specializes in tax planning, preparation, and audits for clients in a variety of industries including construction and development, not-for-profit, restaurants, and technology.  Ronald returned to Virginia after living in North Carolina, Alaska, Texas and New York throughout his life due to parents in the U.S. Army.  If he could, he would re-live his time in Alaska and embrace the outdoors more, learning to ski and ice fish.

Ronald played football alongside Kevin Hamaker at Catawba College, as a linebacker, although he graduated from Guilford College with a BS in Accounting. While he enjoys sports, he also has a talent for music and played trumpet in marching and symphonic band.  He is an avid gamer and enjoys playing with his sons or indulging in his favorite guilty pleasure, Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. He is also a die-hard fan of the Dallas Cowboys (America’s team), the Duke Blue Devils, the New York Yankees and any team Lebron James plays for.

Colin Mayers, CPA – Manager – cmayers[at]bsbllc.com

As a manager at BSB, Colin Mayers specializes in tax preparation and planning for construction and development, government contracting, and professional services industries. While his clients know about his accounting expertise, they may not know about his secret talent—he is a great singer. Colin is originally from Trinidad and Tobago and graduated from the University of Baltimore before becoming a certified public accountant. His work philosophy can be summarized with his favorite quote: “Results get you paid. Excuses get you fired.”

When he’s not working, Colin enjoys browsing Yahoo, running, cycling, lifting weights, playing soccer, and perfecting his three-point shot. He is an avid professional sports fan and can be found cheering for Liverpool, the Kansas City Chiefs, the Yankees, and the Milwaukee Bucks.

Benjamin Nalette, CPA – Manager – bnalette[at]bsbllc.com

Ben is a Manager at BSB providing assurance services. Ben is responsible for the management of the engagement from start to finish. In addition, he is responsible for the management of the staff members and detailed review of the work performed. Prior to joining BSB, he was an active member of his firm’s assurance and professional development committees presenting training courses on industry specific best practices.

He earned his B.S. Public Accountancy and Finance from the State University of New York at Fredonia. Ben is a Certified Public Accountant in Virginia, a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), the Greater Washington Society of Certified Public Accountants (GWSCPA), and a graduate of the GWSCPA Margaret DeBoe Leadership program.

Anita Nagdev – Manager – anagdev[at]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Quynh Ngo – Accounting Support – qngo[at]bsbllc.com

Quynh has been working in public accounting for over 20 years. She assists business clients with their bookkeeping needs and provides general accounting support. She previously worked for another local CPA firm prior to joining the BSB team in June 2013. Quynh is the proud mother of two, a daughter and a son, and enjoys spending time with her family and friends.

Sean Nielsen – Staff Accountant – snielsen[at]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Jeff Ouellette, CPA – Manager – jouellette[at]bsbllc.com

When Jeff Ouellette isn’t helping clients, he may be found golfing, biking, jogging, or reading Clive Cussler novels. Jeff has more than 30 years of public accounting experience, principally in the areas of individual and corporate taxation and financial statement reporting. He is involved with research, planning, analysis, and tax return preparation and review.

Jeff received a BBA from the University of Michigan and MS in Taxation from Georgetown University. He is still a Michigan fan and can be found cheering for the Wolverines during football season. His attitude toward work and life can be summed up with his favorite quote by Hellen Keller: “Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement.  Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.”

Reshma Palvia – Supervisor  – rpalvia[at]bsbllc.com

As a supervisor at BSB, Reshma Palvia provides business and individual tax preparation and planning and IRS representation. Her clients represent a variety of industries including government contracting, healthcare, political and business consultants, professional services, restaurants, construction and development, and technology. While they are aware of her accounting expertise, her clients may not know she is fluent in three languages, frequently bumps into celebrities at airports, and loves broccoli.

Reshma graduated from Roosevelt University with a master’s degree in Accounting and Finance. When she’s not busy serving clients, she enjoys yoga, going on hikes with her family, and traveling to historic places.

Stephanie Perri – Administrative Staff – sperri[a]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Hayley Rayburn – Supervisor – hrayburn[at]bsbllc.com

Hayley joined the firm in February of 2014 after graduating from West Virginia University with a Bachelor’s degree in accounting. She is currently pursuing her CPA certification. In her spare time she likes going to the gym, reading, and watching Mountaineer football. (She is also a twin – as is our other Haley! You can tell them apart by the spelling of their name(s).)

Cynthia A. Robbins – Accounting Support – crobbins[at]bsbllc.com

Cyndi joined our team in November 2017. She graduated from Washington & Lee with a BS in accounting and is an Enrolled Agent. Her specialty is accounting support, having worked as accounting staff for a local homebuilder for the last 13 years. Although she was Chicago born and bred (go Bears!), Cyndi has called Virginia her home since college. When not working with her BSB family, Cyndi spends her time enjoying her own family of 4!

Alison Robinson, CPA – Manager – arobinson[at]bsbllc.com

Alison Robinson has many talents. If she weren’t a CPA, she might be an artist. At least, she could have been with 30 credits in commercial art from University of Central Arkansas before completing her B.S. in Business Administration from the University of LaVerne. She began her accounting career in the entertainment industry in Los Angeles with Arthur Andersen & Co before joining BSB in 2002. As a manager, she specializes in tax preparation for individuals, corporations, and partnerships. She is also expert at laundry, cooking (previously employed as a chef at a California resort), and wearing matching clothing, which is a challenge for accountants come April 1.

Alison’s versatility is also evident in her taste in entertainment. Her favorite books, movies, and tv shows cover a wide range of genres and include Napoleon Dynamite, Uncle Buck, all Jane Austen, White Christmas, classic literature, the Marvel movies and Frasier.  Her favorite concerts include most anything NSO and her (now grown) children’s band and choral performances.  When she’s not helping clients, she may be found serving at church, walking long distances, or testing her eclectic knowledge by completing crossword puzzles.

Alex Salomonsky, CPA – Supervisor– asalomonsky[at]bsbllc.com

After spending four years in the mortgage service industry in his hometown of Virginia Beach, Alex Salomonsky transitioned to public accounting in 2015 when he joined the team at BSB. Since then, he has served many clients in a variety of industries. Beyond his talent for accounting, Alex excels as an amateur chef, creating entire meals from scratch including grinding his own meat, baking his own buns, making his own mustard, and fermenting his own sauerkraut.

Alex earned a BA in Management from James Madison University. He is an avid sports fan and can often be found playing or watching JMU, University of Virginia, the Washington Football Team, the Washington Capitals, or the New York Mets. He also enjoys running, trying out new breweries, and brewing his own beer.

Benjamin Segovia – Accounting Support – bsegovia[at]bsbllc.com

Bio coming soon

Adam Sinclair – Supervisor – asinclair[at]bsbllc.com

When he’s not assisting clients in government contracting, not-for-profit, performing arts, political and business consulting, professional services, and technology industries, Adam Sinclair can be found visiting his favorite websites—IRS.gov and Twitter—or reminiscing about his favorite concert—Mozart in 1786.

Adam joined BSB in 2012 after graduating from West Virginia University. Since then, he has kept the team awake, amused, and active throughout the year. Although he has lived in Northern Virginia for most of his life, he is originally from Chicago and is a diehard fan of the Cubs, Bears, and Bulls. If he could re-live one time in his life, it would be November 2, 2016–the day the Cubs beat the Indians to win the World Series.

Courtney Trowbridge, CPA – Senior Accountant –ctrowbridge[at]bsbllc.com

Courtney graduated from the University of Richmond in 2018, earning her BS in accounting with a minor in French. Originally from St. Louis, Courtney is happy to make the east coast her new home. In her free time, she enjoys being with friends, playing sports, and traveling.